New-Found Freedom?

So yesterday was the first sort-of day of summer, almost all my exams have finished (I have General Studies left, but you can’t revise for it, so it doesn’t really count) so I’ve started acting like it’s summer.

I decided to do the 100 days of makeup challenge because I was bored, but knowing me, my commitment to these sorts of things are very poor, however I’m going to tell you about what I did anyway, because I feel like that’s kind of what you do:

I moisturised, feel like it’s not important to mention which one because any moisturiser will be sufficient.

On my eyes I used a palette that I bought from Superdrug a couple of years back, it’s basically my favourite palette. It is U R The Best Thing by I Heart Makeup and it was around £7 I think and it has so many pigmented shades, it’s so good, and quite cheap. Anyway, I couldn’t tell you which colours I used because I don’t have the packaging and even so, there weren’t any colour names on it. But I used the dark brown matte shade and one of the shimmery browns on the outsides of my eye. I used a shimmery gold in the centre of the eye so that it popped out.
I used Seventeen Make Your Mark Eyeliner Pen because I stole it from my mother, my usual one ran out.
To fill in my brows, I used the powder shade in Benefit Brow Zings in Dark. I don’t fill in my brows a lot because I’ll look like I used a sharpie since my brows are quite dark to begin with.

Then I moved onto my face. I don’t use foundation because I don’t own any, but I’m going to get one this week do not fear.
I used Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in Ivory under my eyes and under where my contour would be.
I then powdered with Clinique Almost Powder Makeup in 04 Neutral and it matted me.
To contour I actually used the light brown and medium brown shade of my eyeshadow palette because my contour kit ran out. It actually ran out ages ago I just haven’t been bothered to get one, plus the eyeshadows are pigmented so you don’t have to use a lot, I actually prefer it.
Lastly on my face, I highlighted with Makeup Revolution Highlighter in Peach Lights to finish it off.

I kind of wanted to go for a nude lip because my eyes were quite dark, so I lined my lip with Mabrook Eye Lip Liner in Cocoa and then KIKO Smart Lipstick in 901 and blended, but it was too light so I added some NYX Lip Lingerie in Teddy on the outsides of the lips to create a contoured effect. Because the Lip Lingerie usually mattes itself, I didn’t have to add any powder.

And that was it. For jewellery I added these fabulous golden earrings with blue gems and a golden choker so complete the look and I tried to take some decent selfies but life was not going my way, I just couldn’t and it made me feel terrible. I don’t know why. It just did. I was about to wipe it off, but then I did my hair and I tried again and it worked and then I felt good so it was fine.

In other news, my grandparents have come to visit for the first time in 7 years according to my grandmother, so in the end the makeup didn’t go completely to waste.

Also, I wanted to add a slider to the header of the blog, because that would look cool wouldn’t it? But it’s a plug in, and you can only add plug-ins if you have a business WordPress account and I don’t ant to spend £30 for a slider. Sure you can get other fab features as well, but I wanted a slider.

When I woke up I was like hey I don’t have to get straight onto revising anymore and that was weird because that’s what I’ve been doing for a good couple of months now. I was FREE. But then it got to around 12pm and I realised I didn’t know what to do with my new-found freedom. I was kind of just doing whatever I could think of, nothing productive. I couldn’t be bothered to get out all my art stuff and paint either, and with the arrival of my grandparents, it wasn’t an innovative idea to begin with. In the morning I tried to fix up my blog, revamp it for the summer, but the whole slider dilemma had really put a damper on my mood as well so I didn’t even want to think about it.

I do hope this summer consists of more than just me doing nothing because I have two and a half months. If anyone has any ideas please hit me up because I am currently just a bit distressed.

Leave a Reply

