SD#1 Sun – Two Door Cinema Club

Ever been in that mood when you can’t be bothered to do anything? That was me yesterday. Anyway…

Have you ever wondered what songs really mean? Same here (if you said no, well that’s a shame…). As you may know, I am a qualified Song Doctor, so in these song dissections, I will, well, dissect songs. First, I have decided to do Sun by Two Door Cinema Club. I actually have a feeling that Two Door Cinema Club will pop up a lot because none of their songs make any sense…

 

Ocean blue, what have I done to you?

Cut so deep, yet growing through and through.

Is this guy talking to the ocean? What have you done to the ocean? Have you had a cigarette by it and polluted it? I think its something bad. And how has he cut the ocean? Is that even possible? These are the important questions in life, I need answers besides 42, Douglas Adams!

Drawn apart, New York and London

All I see now, are distant drumlins

The roads I knew, became a city

And I wonder, will you wait for me?

As far as I am aware, New York and London were always very far apart. Who uses the word drumlin in a song? It’s way too posh. Roads can’t become a city, they will always be roads and I don’t know, will this person wait for you? They would if they really loved you.

Although – I’m far away

I know I’ll stay, I know I’ll stay

Right there with you

OK, this whole paragraph is saying that he will stay with what I am assuming, is a girl.

Though – It might be too late

What would you say? What would you say?

What would you do?

He’s just questioning her now…

I built a hive, became one with the bees

But we fell like rain, got lost into the sea

If I don’t know, the wind will carry me

So just hold tight

He was a bee and then he became rain? No one thinks like that. And just remember to whole on tight because some wind is going to carry you.

Though – I’m far away

I know I’ll stay, I know I’ll stay

Right there with you

And though – It might be too late

What would you say? What would you say?

What would you do?

He’s just saying the same thing now.

Over and over, many setting suns

I have run, I have waited for the rain to come

He waited for rain. Not a long wait considering this is England.

When through that mist, I see the shape of you

And I know, and I know, that I’m in love with you

He saw her in some mist and he’s suddenly in love with her? This is the weirdest relationship I have ever heard of in my life.

Though – I’m far away

I know I’ll stay, I know I’ll stay

Right there with you

And though – It might be too late

What would you say? What would you say?

What would you do?

 

After dividing the ocean in two, dragging New York and London apart, became a bee and then some rain and falling in love with some girl in mist, I think he’s had a pretty long day.

I just realised the song has nothing to do with SUNS! WHAT IS THE POINT!?

Nasvidenje,

Xaha.

Leave a Reply

