My Day At The Book Fair

Here are the things I collected today. There were also a lot of chocolates and sweets, but I ate those) and yes, including the chicken leaflet was necessary...
Here are the things I collected today. There were also a lot of chocolates and sweets (but I ate those) and yes, including the chicken leaflet was necessary…

DISCLAIMER: I actually started writing this yesterday, but I was hooked up in other things and I did not have time to finish this, sorry!

I had a very interesting time today! My mother runs a samosa stall in a our town centre and today there was a book fair! So I was immediately interested and because I love reading books (as if you didn’t know…)

So I visited the fair before lunch and I met so many authors within 10 minutes, and considering the fact that it was the first time I had ever met any authors whatsoever, I was every excited! I went to the first stall and had a look around but they were having a conversation with someone else so I didn’t really get to talk to them. First, I met Dr Julia Ibbotson (www.juliaibbotsonauthor.com) and I asked her why she had many Ferrero Rocher on her stall and it turns out they were a giveaway! And I love Ferrero Rocher (who doesn’t?). She told me about her new book Drumbeats, based in Africa. Next to Dr Ibbotson, I read the blurb to Queen of Bedlam by Laura Purcell and I was hooked! It’s definitely different to anything I’ve read and I hope to read it soon! I met Seven Things You Need to Know before You’re Born author, Gerard Antonie Zweers. We had a conversation about his book title and it’s about life lessons, not a book for unborn babies. Then I met Laura E James and she wrote ‘follow me follow you’. She told me about an author at near the end of the book stalls called Christina Courtenay and about how she wrote YA books. She also told me I wasn’t allowed to read ‘follow me follow you’ until I was at least 15, so a while yet. I then went straight to Christina’s stall and I was shown New England Rocks. The blurb looked interesting, but I couldn’t buy it because I didn’t have any money on me. Then, I got lunch.

The chicken nuggets and chips I got were very good, in case you were wondering. I then went back with my brother and sister and talked to Janet Gover (janetgover.com) and she told me about her book The Bachelor and Spinster Ball because she but a bin bag bow tie and feather on the book. I went back with my mother and I came too an agreement with Christina Courtenay and I got New England Rocks (can you feel that? I’m getting a feeling that a book review will be coming your way soon…) and she signed! And we offered the remaining authors a samosa because a lot of them had left, considering it was almost 3 o’clock and they had been there since 8 in the morning. A lady was talking to Janet Gover and Hywela Lyn, a lady who writes about outer space, she asked about what social networks they were on. She then mentioned the fact that they were the first author’s she’s ever met and then I realised it was the same with me. I had actually met like 10 within a day. #bonus.

Vi ses,

Xaha.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hywela Lyn says:

    Nice to meet you yesterday, Xaha, and thanks so much for the samosa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

