My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece Book Review

I finally finished reading this book. I bought this book with 2 others: The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent. Originally I was only going to buy the Fault in Our Stars and Divergent, but then I went into WH Smith and saw My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher. At first the cover attracted me. It has a nice blue colour and there was an edition with cat footprints down the side of the book on the pages. The blurb didn’t really give much away:

“Ten-year-old Jamie hasn’t cried since it happened. Jasmine cried, Mum cried, Dad still cries. Roger didn’t but then he is just a cat and didn’t know Rose that well, really.

Five years on, it’s worse than ever: Dad drinks, Mum’s gone and Jamie’s left with questions that he must answer for himself.”

However, I was intrigued. I wanted to know more about why his sister lives on the mantelpiece. I wanted to know if it was a metaphor or just a really weird title. Turns out his sister, Rose was killed in a terrorist attack by Muslims and it broke the family apart. His mum went to a support group, but got a little bit too much support and left her husband to be with a guy she met there. This happened on Jasmine’s, Rose’s twin sister, birthday. Jamie’s dad heavily drinks to get rid of the pain. It all becomes too much for their family so Jamie, Jas and his dad move to the Lake District. Jamie’s dad really hates Muslims so it doesn’t help when Jamie becomes close with a Muslim girl called Sunya. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece shows us the ups and downs of life and how life can change within a flash.

It is a proper hard hitting expose on different people’s opinions on Muslims and how the media (and idiots) display all Muslims to be bad people. It’s also really depressing. I pretty much cried all the way through this book; it’s that deep. It makes you realise that Jamie’s life is a bit like Stealth at Thorpe Park: everything’s going great, and then suddenly everything goes downhill. Straight down. Pretty quick.

I’m giving it 8 XahaStars™ out of 10.

Dear Annabel Pitcher, please don’t make me cry so much next time.

Allah hafiz,

Leave a Reply

